Modifying CMS

This has been by far the toughest assignment for me. I finally decided to use Omeka and got that installed. I selected the dark theme. I have the most trouble with the FTP and am still having problems moving things back and forth – I think I need some remedial help. However, I was able to accomplish a few things and have found this all helpful in planning how I want to arrange the information.

Since the main information that I am sharing here are essentially journal entries I am presenting the information in two ways. I will scan each page (actually two pages as the book is really small so there will be a verso and recto) and that will appear as an item where I will provide a transcription for that entire page. In the header I have added tabs for simple pages – Into Store, Out of Store and Rum but now that I am into this I think it makes more sense to arrange these by month. I am going to change the tabs to August, September, October. I may just do the whole book – but for these early assignments I am just going to focus on a few months.

I created a collection – store book – and so far just one item with a few tags but additional items will be more pages of the store book covering the months that I am featuring. Other collections will be George Washington’s diary entries that correspond to the same months and a collection for letters.

I also added a simple page for About and added some text. I haven’t uploaded any images so my site is definitely lacking in the wow factor…but here’s the Link


  1. rshafi1 said,

    March 16, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    I like the layout of your Omeka site. Are there a lot of themes to choose from? WordPress has so many and it makes it hard to choose, but I also chose a dark theme (Ocular Professor) which is similar to yours in the shades. I am wondering if I should change around the colors because sometimes it’s tough on the eyes to read white text on a black/grayish background. I am also having a lot of trouble with the FTP so I know how that feels! Good luck with your site!

    • treppe said,

      March 22, 2009 at 7:19 pm

      Thank you for finding something good to say about my – so far – bare bones site, but I do appreciate the encouragement.

  2. Sharon Deane said,

    March 21, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    It looks like you are coming along. Once you get more familiar with Omeka and the CSS coding, I encourage you to add some color to your homepage. I definitely think it will “draw in” more of audience….just a thought. I agree this has been the toughest assignment, but you got through it…hang in there Gwen!

    • treppe said,

      March 22, 2009 at 7:18 pm

      Yes, I will do the color and the image thing…I’ve just been focusing on other things. Stay tuned!

  3. carbonbasedcaveman said,

    March 22, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    You are coming along fine.

    • treppe said,

      March 22, 2009 at 7:17 pm

      You are very kind….what about your site? Have we seen it yet or did I miss it on the blogroll?

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

