Web design

After reading Garrett’s book I decided to take a look at his website – jjg.net (don’t go to jgg.net first as I did – I think it’s an online dating site – took me a minute to figure out I was in the wrong place!) It was definitely worth a look as his “diagram that started it all” is there and is much easier to read than the one that appears on page 33 in the book. The explanatory text really helps out here – it is in the book as well but seeing it next to the diagram aided in my understanding of what each part means and contributes to web design.

I’ve already created some “low level” wireframes for my site so I especially appreciated Dan Brown’s coverage of this topic in his book.  I now see what is lacking in my version and how I can improve them to get across the information I want to relay as well as using them to help me see what I am forgetting to consider in my plans for the site.


  1. carbonbasedcaveman said,

    March 10, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    What was the name of that site?

  2. treppe said,

    March 14, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    It is Jesse James Garrett’s site – http://www.jjg.net. – the author of The Elements of the User Experience that we read a few weeks ago…sorry for the slow response. It is Spring break, you know!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

